General Election 2015: All Island Nominations List | Sri Lanka Newspaper Articles

The latest and hot Sinhala NewsPaper Articles from Sri lanka

14 July 2015

General Election 2015: All Island Nominations List

The deadline for the submission of nominations for the Aug. 17 general election expired at noon on Monday, July 13. Twenty-one accepted political parties and 201 independent groups have submitted their nominations of candidates for the 225 seats in parliament; and 6,151 candidates will be contesting the election from the 22 electoral districts. Notably, leaders of three major political parties — Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe from the UNP, Anura Kumara Dissanayake from the JVP and Field Marshal Sarath Fonseka from the Democratic Party — will be contesting from the Colombo District., Ones stop for Sri Lankan News papers in Sinhala News - The only Sri Lankan newspaper with round the clock news updates